Independent Living #4

One of the things about living alone, and independently, is that you may quickly find cooking to be a worthwhile activity. Not only is it healthier, but it can be fun!

I’ve been really getting into frying, or as some people call it, sautéing. I invested in a decent, stainless steel, non-stick frying pan and have to say, it rocks! Before today, I was experimenting with frying using a regular pan, which was pretty dire, but needs must.

I’m very pleased with how my cooking has turned out. The meal I made today was delicious, and as always, very spicy. I’m gradually getting a feel as to how much stuff to put into the mix. I’m developing a sense of when I’ve under-, or overcooked something.

Today, using a dribble of extra virgin olive oil, I fried up plum tomatoes, olives, chilli-flavored gherkins, jalopeno peppers, sweetcorn, and spinach. I added some salt, hot curry powder, and a lil bit of Worcestershire sauce for some extra spice and flavor.

I liked the gherkins but found them to be too crunchy alongside everything else, so I’ll leave them out next time, or try frying them for longer in-case I didn’t give them enough love and care.

Cooking nice meals is something I’ve always wanted to get into, but for whatever reason, I couldn’t, or didn’t. Now that I have the money, my own flat, and time, I figure I might as well learn!

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

5 thoughts on “Independent Living #4

  1. This is nice! I am actually so excited for you because you are discovering the beautiful art of cooking. Hope you’ll have so much fun in the process too. Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

