Independent Living #3

I feel proud of myself. Why? Well, I had enough balls to ring the council in order to pay for and arrange a pickup of “bulky waste”. I can’t say I’m too happy with the £25 cost for just a sofa, plus a single bed and its mattress, but hey, I live alone so I kinda have to deal with it.

The council will make the pick-up this Friday. I do have to drag it all to the front of the block of flats by 6am that day, which will be a pain to do on my own, but I should be able. I tell you what, all that weight-lifting is certainly paying off!

I feel like things are coming together again. Today, I paid my last fee to Mind (service charge, for their flat I lived in) so that’s £18 a week I can keep to myself! Between going to the shops, buying household stuff, calling people, and organising my finances, I feel like I have my “ducks in a row”, as a friend of mine says.

Stomp—the heavy-footed guy upstairs to whom I gave that nickname—is bothering me less, which is great. I think I’m just learning to live with the noises. Of course, dealing with new sounds in a different property is something we all go through, but when you have anxiety problems, those sounds can be a hindrance to someone’s wellbeing.

Although I’m managing my finances well, I have noticed that I’m spending too much lately. I’m spending an awful lot on food, £25 just came out for the collection, and then there are bus journies at about £5 a pop. I need to knuckle down and save harder than I ever have before if I want to undo the damage of the move.

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

2 thoughts on “Independent Living #3

  1. I feel so proud of you, even though I don’t know you personally. You have done great, things will get easier as you said everybody has initial issues when they first move.Plus it’s not cheap so you are doing great, don’t berate yourself for overspending, it’s not like food is a luxury item. You’ll find a proper level soon. Well done

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you very much for that. 🙂 Means a lot. I agree with the food thing, but the TYPE of food I’ve been buying is kinda naughty… lol Biscuits, chocolate, Lucozde… things I don’t need. I’m trying to get back on track though. I’ve been gradually buying more healthy things and lowering the amount of unhealthy things I buy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

