Sleeping Dogs Lie

This is a pretty messed-up tale that is sadly true; you’ve been warned.

Years ago, over a period of a month or two, I began talking to a troubled young girl on a mental health support site who claimed to be going through something utterly horrific I daren’t share. The paternal and/or sibling-type side kicked in and I tried to offer some support.

After finally calling the police to get them to go see her because I was lead to believe she were in severe danger, I discovered it was actually all fake and that she was in-fact fine. You hear about these stories, but it just so happens that I experienced it.

Much later, I got privately contacted on a website by someone claiming to have worked with her and that she was in-fact very “unwell” and in hospital for her anorexia. Apparently she was going through some sort of episode; reliving unpleasant crap that did happen to her some time ago.

I believe this so-called professional, at a hospital, found her diary in which she mentioned me, and felt it right to let me know the score. We talked briefly via private messages, but by that point I wasn’t keen on revisiting such a memory.

Honestly, I washed my hands of it. It was all insane and not something of which I want part. People need not do crap like that; they have no idea what it does to those that care. Trust issues ahoy.

Looking back, now much older and wiser, I should have left well alone, but I was going through a very rough time as well, and I was no doubt naive.

Remember, you can’t help everyone; I learned that much.

When the police came to my door and explained, my heart sank; I felt so foolish, upset, and angry. I didn’t even talk to my father about it in any great detail, although he had a good idea what happened. I locked it up for a long time, and I still don’t talk about it; despite this post, I’m not sure I even want to start.

I had nothing to do with her when the police got back to me. I said absolutely nothing to her and that was it. I still have no idea what was real and what wasn’t; honestly, I don’t want to know.

I was going to take that to my grave, but screw it, it’s been long enough. Maybe—hopefully—somebody somewhere can learn something from it. I sure as hell learned plenty.

Thanks for reading.

Thank you Mental Health and Invisible Illness Resources for sharing this.

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

2 thoughts on “Sleeping Dogs Lie

  1. It sucks this happened to you. I can imagine your trust was severely broken after that ordeal. It’s difficult to trust people who are mentally ill, because you do not know where their mental state is.

    It’s a step forward that you have began to trust again, even though you are hesitant. I’m sure there are some who will value your trust, because it is a treasure to be held.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks muchly. I struggle with it sometimes; trusing that someone won’t try to manipulate me like that again; mess with my feelings. I guess it just makes me even more suspicious of people’s actions and whether they’re genuine or not, especially online. But, as sucky as it was, it was educational.

      Like

Leave a Reply

