Whisper Sweet Nothings

Come on, it’s a thing and you know it! Don’t be shy now.

It’s so personal and private; just between you and another person. There’s something about having a woman inside my skull, her voice gently bouncing around, that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

I was recently lying in bed, all warm and comfy, talking to her on the phone using Skype, when she started whispering softly to me and it just made me melt; I felt as though I were dissolving into the mattress and my brain were fluttering away into the sky.

I was just listening to part of a podcast in which they talked about ASMR, which stands for autonomous sensory meridian response, which is a “neologism for a perceptual phenomenon characterized as a distinct, pleasurable tingling sensation” in various parts of the body, so says Wiki. I had never heard of it before, but I assure you I have experienced such bizarre but comfortable sensations.

There are even videos online of people whispering just for your deeply depraved pleasure. Search for it on YouTube, I dare you.

It doesn’t have to be a sexual thing! Don’t get me wrong, it can be like that, but it can also be sweet and comforting; to me, it feels more intimate than the regular voice. Although there is also talking in a quieter, deeper voice; the bed voice.

You can even just talk about the weather, what you did today, or your plans for tomorrow; you might be pleasantly surprised how nice it is to hear.

A common stimulus for ASMR is, unsurprisingly, the sound of someone whispering, according to Wiki, so consider whispering softly once in a while; you may find his or her ears will be thankful.

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

Leave a Reply

