Behind the Screen is a Person

To specifically say it’s not OK to get angry at people online, is maybe saying it’s OK to get angry at people offline; if that’s the case, what’s so special about online? Is it that I can’t grab the little fucker’s necks until their head pops off like a cork out of a bottle? No, that can’t be it.

Behind the computer screens are real people with thoughts and feelings, just like you. Some people forget that. That said, it’s probably true, at least to a point, that you shouldn’t get all that wound up over people in general; it’s wasted energy and potentially unhealthy. Unfortunately, I’m only human.

I’ve got too many reasons to be angry, but I’ll keep the violin  and self-loathing out of this. You probably don’t care for sob stories. There’s always someone worse off than you, right?

I’m angry at myself a lot, for things I’ve done, for things I’ve let happen, for my feelings, for my thoughts, and God only knows what else. I am my own worst enemy.

I’m jealous of people like my best friend who can be so blasé that almost nothing bothers, bugs, or at all rubs him the wrong way.

Earlier on, some power-hungry mod on a forum for a game on Steam bans me for flaming, when I was civil, logical, and essentially not flaming, while the other lot were profanely raging at each other; eventually, the mod or “developer” realised their mistake, made no apology, but at least said they’d lift the ban, except they didn’t; annoying.

Some trolls get on my nerves, not necessarily because of the content, but because they are so pathetic that they have nothing better to do than sit around and hurl abuse at people online; it gives them some sort of sick pleasure to see others in pain. I’m supposed to shrug that off, aren’t I? Well, most of the time I do, but it only takes a bad day and one sadistic individual to change that.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m no ogre who’ll ragequit from anything the moment something doesn’t go my way—I’m just tired, which usually makes these sort of things worse.

I don’t exactly like being pissed off, but it turns out I’m pretty damn good at it; apparently that makes me weak.

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

Leave a Reply

