3 Movies that Blew Me Away

I love movies and have done for as long as I can remember. Go back far enough and you have my dad amassing a huge collection of VHS tapes that were all stacked and lined up on shelving units in our old living room—good times. Now we’re in the age of streamed media and blu-ray discs!

I’d like to share with you, in no particular order, some of my favorite movies that blew me away:

Buried

You’ll think twice before hopping into a coffin while still alive, thanks to the 2010 movie written by Chris Sparling and directed by Rodrigo Cortés.

Very few movies can make me feel as helpless like Buried does. I’ve never really had a fear of being 6ft under and having not yet actually kicked the bucket, although it is of course a scary thought. This movie, however, introduces such a fear and it does it somewhat obnoxiously, in a good way! I love it so much that I’m actually watching it again, right now.

Buried doesn’t mess around at all, getting straight into the action, or at least as much action as a guy, played by Ryan Reynolds, trapped in a wooden box with little else but a phone, an empty wallet, a lighter, a small drinking flask, and some coins. The first think to do? Ring for help of course!

When I first heard about Buried, I was curious as to how it would come together. I wondered how the camera would manage to capture all the action without feeling too restricted and clumsy. Somehow, it just all works and boy is it claustrophobic and tense as hell!

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

A heart-tugging 2012 film written and directed by Lorene Scafaria. Don’t be too surprised if, after watching the movie, you end up searching for a friend, just in-case it all ends.

I’m embarrassed to say it, but this flick actually managed to bring a tear to my eyes. The looming doom of an asteroid threatening to end it all, the constant sense of finality, and the bittersweet carrot dangling in-front of my face as I hoped the hopeless couple would just get together already! I couldn’t not love it.

I’m a big fan of survival stories, particularly those focused around the end of the world or even after the end of the world, or at least the world as we know it. Just part of the human morbid curiosity! Although I feel that Seeking a Friend for the End of the World isn’t quite a survival movie, such as the famous 2000 Tom Hanks movie, Cast Away, written by William Broyles Jr. I found myself being drawn into a movie less about surviving and more about calling it quits but finding some happiness before the inevitable demise.

Unsurprisingly, I found that Keira Knightley did a smashing job and looked gorgeous in the process, paired up surprisingly well with Steve Carell‘s deadpan humor.

Interstellar

The first time I watched the 2014 film, Interstellar, my jaw was practically on the floor almost the entire time, particularly when it started kicking into gear. Directed by Christopher Nolan and written by both Christopher and Jonathan Nolan.

Matthew McConaughey managed a pretty stellar performance (OK, that joke is probably done just about everywhere else) and to be honest, I think everyone did a fantastic job. I was so blown away by Interstellar that, if I recall correctly, after the film, I immediately went onto YouTube and other sites in search of people’s theories about the movie and how it might compare to reality.

Being a Sci-Fi fan, it came as no surprise that Interstellar would be one of my favorite movies of all space and time, despite the arguably overused guy steps up to save the world trope.

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

Leave a Reply

