It’s German Music

“A thousand languages; one message” – Der Graf [wir sind alle wie eins]

So, I’ve gone on about Unheilig in German, given you a basic idea about the band, but it’s not enough. I’ve become such a big fan of der Graf and his music that I just have to go on about him some more. Call me obsessed, … but that’s not my name, so don’t?

Der Graf, they call him; I don’t know exactly why, only that der Graf keeps his identity withheld from the general public, I assume because he doesn’t want the fame 24/7, but I have to wonder how he handles people seeing him in the street. I for one would weep like a little girly if I saw him. I’d squee: “Ich bin dein bester Fan!” – don’t worry, I totally wouldn’t do or say that—probably. Back to reality: der Graf was called something or other in the tabloids and the name given was cut short by the fans simply as, “der Graf,” and I still don’t understand what it means; I can’t seem to find anything on it through the standard sources, so I may have to do some asking around to ascertain its true meaning.

Der Graf stuttered as a child, and I believe people would tell him that he wouldn’t be able to one day have a job involving public speaking or something along those lines—hah, now look at him; admirable. Despite the stutter, he pushed forward and made a name for himself.

I watched an interview of der Graf and tried my hardest to understand everything, but I couldn’t keep up. What I could however learn is very interesting to me. I learned that he put a close on Unheilig because he felt there wasn’t much more to sing about, and first and foremost, although he has his fans, his top priority is his family. Der Graf said he hopes the fans understand. He explained that when he was with Unheilig, he’d often not be all there as he’d always be thinking up the “next song.” I guess he felt like it was time to leave, when it’s “at the best,” to roughly translate what he sings in the fantastic farewell song called Zeit zu gehen that was released for the fans.

Unheilig has some beautiful songs that are deep, meaningful, heart-warming, and sometimes a little sad; every aching heartbeat is entirely worth the warm, classy, and sincere performance. I’m so pleased that Unheilig can be found on YouTube, because without that ability I would never have stumbled across him or his music. Listening to so wie du warst several times over for a few days really engaged me with regards to the language and really helped me feel connected, as though they were more than just words I had to learn; they were feelings I were to understand. To not have experienced this would have been quite the shame.

“You see me with closed eyes; you would lose yourself in my world” – Glasperlenspiel [ich bin ich]

It’s not all about Unheilig, though, although it is first and foremost my favorite of all the German music I so far have heard. I introduce to you a couple calling themselves and their music Glasperlenspiel. I know nothing about them, as I’m not a big-time fan or anything, I just really enjoy listening to nie vergessen and ich bin ich, the two I heard shortly after discovering Unheilig‘s so wie du warst and probably stark.

I was speaking to a young friend over the Internet, earlier. I showed him a few music videos and started to talk about German music—naturally, I went on about Unheilig in a similar repetitive manner as Peter Griffin’s Bird is the Word record; yes, I went there. This friend exclaimed that it’s “like American pop music but German,” to which I professed, “No!” Shortly thereafter I lectured him on the history of pop, laid out fantastical graphics and gave him all the statistics necessary in order that he come to the logical conclusion that German music is largely superior due to many reasons far too complicated for me to explain—I may be ever so slightly full of shit right now. In reality, I explained that I felt German music has more “heart” to it; more feeling. While this might well not be the case with all German music, and I’m sure it isn’t, I think it must be true for many.

I do feel that Germans are more feeling-orientated people, and that may just be in my head, but the conversations I’ve had with Germans have often felt very sincere, even if they were in an unpleasant manner, there was occasionally a level of bluntness there and sincerity I don’t always get from my English-speaking brethren. Perhaps it’s just appreciating different words, those of which have opened me up to new ways of thinking about how I communicate with others.

“nobody needs to save me anymore; you’ve already done that.” – Sido [einer dieser Steine]

I recently stumbled across a grand climax of epicness that is einer dieser Steine, a gentler rap tune by Sido, featuring Mark Forster who sings the chorus, leaving Sido the verses. It truly blew me away and may well end up being one of my favorite tracks for a long time, at least of the German variety.

I’m not entirely sure what the score is with Sido. I did a little trawling through the interwebs and it seems he used to be your typical gangsta-wannabe rapper—sorry, Sido! But something seems to have changed. I’m not sure if this is right. I checked out a track called Bilder im Kopf that actually also blew me away but was incredibly difficult to understand; the hardest song I’ve tried to understand because it’s so fast and so heavily colloquial, but damn is it cool. I just get this feeling of awesomeness when I hear that song. The thing is, Bilder im Kopf is quite an old track—at least 3 years old—so I’m guessing either that counts as his “newer stuff” or he was simply not as bad as the person whose comments I read online said.

I get the feeling that although Sido is a bit of a lad, he’s still just a regular human being who feels and has bonafide experiences, just like the rest of us. I don’t get the impression of some pimped-up wannabe banging on about his bitches and crack, or about how ‘ard he is, yo. It’s my first real taste of German rap, and so far me likey, assuming it’s all like this, which I sincerely doubt.

I’m sure I will stumble across plenty more German musics in due time, and I’m further sure that I will find them awe-inspiring all the same.

Keep up to date with Taut with Thought’s Twitter page!
https://twitter.com/tautwiththought

2 thoughts on “It’s German Music

  1. I can’t even believe I am so late in finding out the news that Unheilig have ended. I have been scouring the internet today to find out what is going on, and thanks to you I now have a better idea. I’m just gutted. I’ve been a fan of Der Graf for so long. Can’t believe that beautiful voice will no longer sing to me. :{

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome. I’m sorry I was the one who delivered the bad news. xD Der Graf may not be singing now, but at least we have all those songs to listen to, and videos to watch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

